top of page

Putting 2 and 2 together

Not the biggest Taylor Swift fan but I took time to listen to the famous song 22 and I must say Taylor got those lyrics to down to the tee.

"We're happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time It's miserable and magical. Oh, yeah Tonight's the night when we forget about the deadlines It's time

Uh oh!

I don't know about you

But I'm feeling 22

Everything will be alright

If you keep me next to you

You don't know about me

But I'll bet you want to

Everything will be alright

If we just keep dancing like we're 22, ooh-ooh 22, ooh-ooh"

Literally my life right now at 22 ... with mid semester exams in 3 days and assignments, term papers and all just piling up like Nairobi traffic on a Friday at 5:30pm, I was tempted to call it quits on celebrating my birthday because life was getting in the way. I thought it probably would be best to bury myself in books in the library and begin reading because why lie.... I feel like I haven't learned anything for a whole 6 weeks... don't get me wrong though I attend my classes *hi mum* but half the time the only thing difference between you before the class and you after the class is the lump some amounts of regret for picking that 9am class. Uni is weird... Anyway... I was on the brink of just letting my day fly by and then my phone beeped. My grandma was calling. I pick up and she sings for me happy birthday and I felt loved. She remembered my birthday ... my 22nd birthday... I thought 22 was just a number. Nothing special like your 18th or 21st, 25th or 40th but just the random age of 22.... I was just gonna let it fly by.... but after the call ... I realized something. Every year on this earth should be celebrated.

God has blessed me with yet another year on this earth and I thank him. I forgot about all my other stresses in life and appreciated the moment and after that, my day and entire night was filled with lots of celebration and lots of love from friends and family and I'm thankful to everybody that took time to wish me happy birthday :)

I read something from another blogger who's also turned 22 and I thought I'd share it here #Relatable

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page